tropicalskies

Travelling Through Life…making changes as I go

Thinking of Goals

on December 6, 2016

So 2017 is almost here and I’m looking at my new planner from Anchored Press that has a list for my 2017 goals. Suddenly I realize I have NO idea where my notebook is with my 2016 goals. Fortunately I typed them up here on the blog. Now I will be honest I haven’t looked at my goals for quite some time. I haven’t crossed anything off in ages. 

This is what I posted back in March:

In my previous post I had set these goals for the year.

My 2016 goals are

  • Hang my Running medals
  • Do a Hot Chocolate run – Registered last year and the run is later this year! DONE
  • Do some 5k’s – I am registering for one in May
  • Register for Rock n’ Roll Marathon series – Last 2 years I have done the 5k and 10k back to back – Please open up registration!
  • Hit the gym 1x a week –
  • Hang art/photos around the house
  • Do ornaments that need photos
  • Scan and Shred Papers – I have done a little bit of this as it is ongoing
  • Send Photo gifts for Valentines Day – I am typing this and have NO idea what I meant!
  • Label items in pantry  – Husband is working on this project as I am 99% done with my part on this project from a pantry reorganization!! Yippee
  • Plan on the go bag with snacks – Done
  • Sell old kitchen table – listed on craigslist
  • List more items on eBay
  • Plan healthy menus

In looking at this list I have completed 1 item since my original post. I have also been pretty good at exercising while I have yet to go to the gym. I have been doing several walks as the weather has improved. This has been quite fun.

My husband is terrible at completing projects. So I have delegated the pantry labeling to him and he has yet to complete that. I have learned not to ask him. It will get done in due time.

While it may not look like a lot has been completed, things are still getting done. I enjoy . the feeling of getting things done. For many resolutions give a feeling of failure. If you set broad goals it is a way to possibly set up for failure. If you say I want to lose weight. You have to break down that desire into more achievable steps. Sadly this is why so many people start going to the gym in January and are done going before the 1st quarter ends.

This is why I like to do goals. I feel that they are broken down versions of a resolution. Personally I feel that my broadest goal is to plan healthy menus. I primarily wrote that goal so I could start menu planning. Do I eat healthy? Yes I do. Do I have healthy meals? Yes I do. It would be a goal of mine to plan my meals in advance so I could use it as a tool to plan grocery shopping better and what I have in my freezer that needs to be used better. It would allow me to skip the fridge stare at the end of a long day and have no idea what to cook. Sometimes I have a plan in my head of what I want to do. Yet there are days I have no clue. Sometimes there are plans but life happens and it doesn’t get done.

Regardless I feel I am on target for getting things done. I am accountable for being healthy with exercise despite not making it to the gym. I am on target for getting some 5k’s in before summer. As once summer is here it will be too toasty to get it done.

 

Lets see where we are.

My 2016 goals are

  • Hang my Running medals – NOPE
  • Do a Hot Chocolate run – Registered last year and the run is later this year! DONE
  • Do some 5k’s – I am registering for one in May – Did the one in May, Registered for one in 2 weeks.
  • Register for Rock n’ Roll Marathon series – Last 2 years I have done the 5k and 10k back to back – Please open up registration! – I registered and had to miss it due to being out of town for several weeks dealing with a family matter…
  • Hit the gym 1x a week – NOPE!! I did go 2x this summer does that count?
  • Hang art/photos around the house – NOPE
  • Do ornaments that need photos – NOPE
  • Scan and Shred Papers – I have done a little bit of this as it is ongoing. Yep did a little bit more of this.
  • Send Photo gifts for Valentines Day – I am typing this and have NO idea what I meant! – STILL have no idea what I meant.
  • Label items in pantry  – Husband is working on this project as I am 99% done with my part on this project from a pantry reorganization!! Yippee. – My part is done but he never labeled them. Guess I will buy a cartridge for my label machine and do it myself.
  • Plan on the go bag with snacks – Done
  • Sell old kitchen table – listed on craigslist – NOPE never listed it
  • List more items on eBay – Doing better at adding new items.
  • Plan healthy menus – work in progress

Again, I don’t do new years resolutions, instead of resolutions I set goals. For me these are easier, more tangible items to reach. It feels great to cross one off as I reach it. Didn’t do so great for 2016 on the list. However I have to be honest the list changes over time and I don’t update it. Things have been done that were not on the list. Example my closet has needed some organizing. That was a goal that never got listed, but is getting done. Organizing physical photos somewhat chronologically from the past 20 years.

Lets see how my thoughts of goals for 2017 goals go as December progresses and my thoughts of the new year increase.

What are your 2017 goals? Have you thought of them yet? While I haven’t it is a good time to start while the hustle and bustle of the holidays is here.

Leave a Reply

