tropicalskies

Travelling Through Life…making changes as I go

Quick Breakfast Recipe

on June 15, 2016

Summertime is practically here and it’s already been hot. Since it is hot, I hate eating warm food first thing in the morning. I want something cool and refreshing.

One of my warm weather go to breakfasts has been smoothies, however when I was out of town and went to a place called My Fit Foods and stocked up on some food, one of the things I got was really good so I’ve started doing these for breakfast.

It is approx 1/2 cup of greek yogurt – I often get the honey or the vanilla sometimes even the strawberry flavor. I buy it in the large size at the store as it is more economical.

Mix in 1 tablespoon of gluten free granola – currently I have Udi’s brand that also has some nuts raisins and banana chips that isn’t bad

Mix in 1/2 tablespoon of cacao nibs this is healthier than dark chocolate and has magnesium. If you have never tried it alone it is quite bitter but mixed into something else it is quite tasty.

1/4 to 1/2 cup of fresh fruit depending if you like a lot of fruit. I often mix in strawberries or kiwi or other fresh fruit.

Last week I wasn’t hungry for dinner and had some mango that was going bad and the mango was delicious with the vanilla flavored yogurt.

Typically this is something that I may have done as a snack and sometimes may still do in smaller quantities. However by increasing the quantities it is a bit larger as a meal and quite filling especially on the days I have a late lunch and don’t want a meal for dinner, so I opt for this instead. I love it for breakfast as well. it is a light meal that gets me going. Oatmeal is too heavy right now especially with the heat and somedays I’m not up to cooking eggs.

What do you do for breakfast when you don’t feel like eating?

 

Leave a Reply

