tropicalskies

Travelling Through Life…making changes as I go

My Fit Foods

on May 3, 2016

It’s been a while. April was a BUSY month. I had to travel for a few weeks to handle some personal business and while I was gone I wanted to make sure I maintained a healthy diet. Near where I was staying was a place called My Fit Foods.

I first heard about them 2+ years ago when I was driving around the city I was visiting and was really curious what it was about. I asked someone I knew if they had been and if they liked it and they said YES. So I knew for my next visit I would visit. I did and while it wasn’t 100% what I expected it was a cool concept. When I first went to MFF last year I walked in and found it’s not a restaurant. It is actually a togo prepared meals place that you can microwave your meal there and eat at a table but 99.9% go there to purchase prepackaged healthy meals. They offer breakfast, lunches, dinners, snacks and even some beverages.

When I knew I was going to be out of town for 2 weeks last month I knew I was going to get some of my meals from there. It is about the same price or even cheaper than many fast food places but healthier. Almost every meal they have is gluten free. It is proportioned for your meal size. Let me tell you several of the meals I purchased were quite impressive. A couple of them I went back for more of the same. One of the meals was a Steak Chili Relleno  was amazing. I am not a fan of chili relleno but I thought heck lets try something different. It was so good I went back for more. Another one that was amazing was the Thai Peanut Chicken Wraps. This was tasty and I figured I could recreate this dish easier than the Steak Chili Relleno.

Over the weekend I went to the grocery store and bought ingredients to recreate this dish and I was able to nail it. The item I bought you would wrap it in butter lettuce and I had romaine at home however the flavor was still the same. The texture wasn’t 100% the same but first run I now know what to change but it is exciting to get the flavor right.

I truly wish that there was a My Fit Foods by me as I LOVE the idea of a healthy meal that you can buy and eat later. There are other places where I can go and eat healthy but none where I can store it at home for several days to eat later. Also sadly there are several healthy places I can go to and eat meals on the spot that are much more than MFF. Example a new place opened up by me. I am not 100% sure of the name of the joint but I remember checking their menu to see what type of healthy food they served and was disappointed to see that I have to pay 1.50 more for gluten free bread. The average meal was $10+. Where at MFF depending on what I got a meal could range from $5-$10. This was not including snacks.

I hope to call the company and let them know I would LOVE a location where I live. I need to look for their phone number on the website. But if you are one who likes to eat healthy and really want to when you have a lot doing on, check them out. They have locations in LA, Phoenix, Texas, Tulsa, Chicago.

DISCLAIMER: I HAVE NOT BEEN PAID BY MY FIT FOODS FOR MY OPINION ON MY VISIT. I WAS NOT PAID IN ANY FORM INCLUDING MONETARY OR IN PRODUCT SUCH AS FREE FOOD. I PAID OUT OF MY POCKET FOR FOOD WHEN I WENT. I CHOSE TO DO THIS REVIEW BECAUSE OFTEN IT IS A STRUGGLE TO EAT HEALTHY WHEN ON THE GO. ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARE GLUTEN FREE. IT OFTEN COSTS MORE TO EAT HEALTHY AND THIS COST THE SAME AS MOST FAST FOOD MEALS. SUCH AS MY 1 TRIP TO MCDONALDS WHERE I SPENT $7.50 on a CHICKEN SANDWICH MEAL WITH FRIES & A MEDIUM SODA. IN THIS MEAL I HAD TO TOSS THE BREAD THAT MY GRILLED CHICKEN CAME ON. I DIDN’T SUPERSIZE THE MEAL. HOWEVER I HAD MORE FOOD THAT WAS HEALTHIER FOR ABOUT THE SAME PRICE WHEN I ATE THE THAI PEANUT CHICKEN WRAPS.

Leave a Reply

