tropicalskies

Travelling Through Life…making changes as I go

Family History Project

on April 8, 2014

I have been working on a family history project of old photos. I have photos ranging from 1920’s to 1990’s that were my maternal grandmas . In the stacks and stacks of stuff, I have an assortment of newspaper clippings, church newsletters, family photos, cards and some other memorabilia including photos.

I’ve had a hard time deciding how I wanted to do this. First I started with some albums that I bought at Ross that held 4×6’s but after playing with them I didn’t like the layout. I also didn’t like how I couldn’t hold the memorabilia. I put my project on hold for a while so I could determine what would be best. In some ways this was a good thing as I found another box of photos to incorporate into my project.

In the end I decided to go with 12×12 size albums and hope to get the entire project into 2 albums 3 max! I was lucky enough to sell off my 4 albums I had purchased at Ross on eBay and not have a huge loss.

 

I am using clear photo corners to attach the photos to the papers and cards before they go into the pocket pages. For the project I am using the following supplies:

Black WRMK 12 x 12 Album

Project Life Heritage Edition Core Kit

Project Life Cinnamon Core Kit

Project Life Page Protectors  in Big Variety Pack 2 and Variety Pack 1

Recollections Paper Pad that has a vintage look to it.

 

Here are some pictures of my pages:

This is using a card from Cinnamon and the paper stack and clear corners

IMG_0102

This is using the paper stack and clear corners

IMG_0105

 

Have you inherited photos in which you are preserving? If so, how are you preserving them?

2 responses to “Family History Project

  1. Recently on a trip back home my grandmother gave me some old photos. I do plan to put them in a scrapbook but just haven’t gotten that far yet 🙂

  2. Any idea how you will preserve your old photos? I highly suggest getting some of your grandma’s stories on some sort of journaling card. I would have loved that from my Grandpa on my dads side. I think I have a video of him, One of my last trips before he died I took pictures of wood carvings he had made sadly most are blurry (before digital camera)

Leave a Reply

